If you want to register your car in the state of Florida, here are three things that you must do; first, you have present proof of ownership. Second, you have to verify the VIN number. And third, you have to show your proof of state insurance requirements.
If you are moving to the state, the law requires you to register your car within 10 days after you get employed within the state. Registration is also a must if you have your child enrolled in a Florida school.
Get auto insurance before registering your vehicle
Of course, you have to obtain a state driver’s license. Afterwards, you need to purchase car insurance from a licensed insurer within the state. Most Florida-licensed car insurance companies offer their services on the Internet.
At the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles, you will have to show your out-of-state title and VIN number verification. Once you get your car registration, you will then receive your car registration certificate, license plate and validation decal.
If you have just bought a car in Florida, you register it by showing the Florida Certificate of Title that contains your name. You can also apply for a Certificate of Title together with the proof of ownership.
It is a must that you have your Florida car insurance policy. It is also necessary to provide VIN verification, which can be completed using the state DMV form HSMV 82040 or HSMV 82042.
Florida Car Insurance Companies
When getting insurance for your car in Florida, you must ensure that your insurer is a licensed Florida company. If an officer pulls you over and you fail to show proof of Florida car insurance, your car registration and tag will be suspended for a maximum of three years, or until you have provided proof of Florida insurance.
The following are the minimum requirements for Florida DMV car insurance:
- $10,000 minimum liability amount for Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
- $10,000 minimum liability amount for Property Damage Liability (PDL)
If you got involved in a car crash, or faced conviction of certain offenses, the Florida DMV requires you to buy Bodily Injury Liability (BIL).
Putting up a Car, Van, Truck or other Vehicles for Sale
If you decide that you want to sell your car in Florida, you have to fill up a Notice of Sale form, also known as HSMV form 82050. Once you file this form, it will protect you in the future from any liability caused by your sold car, motorized vessel, or mobile home. Apart from the need to fill up such form, the state of Florida requires you to obtain a duly notarized copy of the bill of sale of your vehicle, appropriate certificate of title, or any other transaction that clearly shows that you are the owner of the vehicle.
You then need to submit the Notice of Sale form to the local Florida tax collector’s office. In addition to this, the purchaser of your vehicle must apply for a Certificate of Title. Once the certificate is issued to him, this validates the transaction since it indicates that you have sold your vehicle to him.