Yes, Florida No Fault Car Insurance is mandatory.
If you live in Florida or you need to stay in the Sunshine State for longer than 90 days you must have Florida No Fault Car Insurance. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles does not need the 90 days to be consecutive to require this insurance on the vehicle.
Don’t forget that driving without car insurance is illegal. You must have auto insurance even if your vehicle is not currently used, as long as it has Florida registration tag.
You must obtain auto insurance from Florida, not another state.
Florida No Fault Car Insurance Minimum Required
The minimum coverage required is:
1. PIP – Personal Injury Protection, $10,000.
2. PDL – $10,000 Property Damage Liability,$10,000
Additionally, if you have been involved in an accident, or have been convicted of certain offences, you may be required to purchase Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) coverage.
Under Florida No Fault Car Insurance law, if you are involved in an accident, your insurance company will cover your medical expenses, regardless of who was at fault.
However, the at fault party will still have to cover the property damages.
Save money on Florida No Fault Car Insurance
In comparison with other states, people living in Florida pay slightly more for their car insurance.
Nevertheless, there are plenty of things you can do in order to reduce your monthly car insurance payments.
1. Leave the car at home more often – walk, carpool and biking are all good options. Less mileage means more affordable vehicle insurance and less spent on gas every month.
2. Pay attention on the road- if you have speed tickets or other traffic violations, your vehicle insurance in Jacksonville will go up.
3. Go online and compare – you will be surprised how much you can save if you shop around.
Get FREE Florida No Fault Car Insurance Quotes in minutes and see how much you can save today.