Section 316.193 of Florida Statutes requires drivers convicted of DUI to install ignition interlock devices on their vehicles. This ignition interlock program affects drivers who were arrested and convicted of DUI offense after July 1, 2002, upon which they have become eligible of reinstating their permanent or restricted driver’s license.
An ignition interlock device is likewise mandated by Florida law if the driver who has been convicted of DUI offense applies for any restricted license to be used for business or work. It is a must that concerned drivers must buy their device from ignition interlock vendors selected by the Florida Department.
If you are a driver who is mandated to install an ignition interlock device, you will have your driver’s license marked with a “P” restriction, which means that you are indeed required with the device. The time period for the installation of the device officially starts on the date that the “P” interlock mark is issued.
Court Reporting Requirements
Most Florida courts report DUI convictions to the state DMV via electronic means. In such a case, court orders must reflect the required suspension time as well as interlock requirement. It is advisable that you talk to the clerk of court to check if the electronic report from the court includes ignition interlock requirement.
Costs of Installing Device
If you are convicted with DUI, you will have to pay the following costs when installing ignition interlock device in your car, including taxes:
- $70 fee to install the device
- $12 as Interlock fee
- $100 as refundable deposit
- $5 as monthly insurance charge
- $67.50 fee for monitoring and calibration
Payment involving Indigent Drivers
If a Florida court has determined that a convicted driver is unable to pay the expenses involved in the installation of an ignition interlock device, it may order only a part of the fine to be paid by the driver for the violation of Florida section 316.193 to pay for the expense of installing the device.
Ignition Interlock Device Specifications
- Ignition interlock device involves advanced fuel-cell technology
- It effectively prevents the start of the car if you have breath sample of over 0.05
- The device is equipped with rolling retest that is capable of random tests even while the car is in use. All data collected and placed on reports can be accessed at all times.
DUI Offense Requires Installation of Ignition Interlock Device
Florida law requires any driver convicted of DUI to install an ignition interlock device on his car. If you have been arrested and convicted with DUI for the first time; if the court so orders, you will be required to have the device on your vehicle. For any subsequent conviction of DUI, you will automatically be required to have ignition interlock device in your car.
How Does Florida Ignition Interlock Work?
Working with ignition interlock involves the following simple steps:
- First, you have to breathe onto the Interlock device to start your car.
- After five minutes, the gadget beeps. This signals that you need to breathe again on the Interlock.
- After every thirty minutes, the ignition interlock will beep; immediately after which you must breathe on the device.
Every time you breathe into the device, data is being recorded to be transmitted to the State DMV. If you want to see the report, this can be obtained on the Internet.