Thousands of people move to Florida every month. Moving to a different state can be stressful at times. To avoid any unpleasant surprises make sure you are familiar with the local laws.
Once you are a resident of the Sunshine State you will have to change your driver license, insure and register your vehicle. You are considered to be a resident when you start a new job, enrol your kids to a local school, live in Florida for more than 6 consecutive months or register to vote.
Obtaining Your Florida Driver License
Florida’s law requires you to change your driver license within 30 days of becoming a resident. Before you are issued a Florida driver license, you must present the authorities with the correct identification and documents. Many new comers experience the frustration of not bringing the right ID and paperwork and end up wasting their time.
1. Primary Identification – Used as proof of your date of birth. For U.S. Citizens it could be a birth certificate issued by a government agency (certificate issued by hospital will not be accepted),US passport or certificate of naturalization. In same cases a proof of citizenship may be required so make sure you carry the appropriate documents. In case your name has changed due to marriage or divorce, again you will need to provide the appropriate paperwork.
2. Proof of Social Security Number – Any of the following will be sufficient – Social Security card, W-2 form, Pay check, SSA-1099 or Non-SSA-1099.
3. Proof of Residential Address – You must bring at least TWO documents which state your current address in Florida. An example of such proof of address is a monthly mortgage statement or rent agreement, Florida voter registration card, Medical or health card with address listed, insurance policy or bill, professional license issued by a government agency, W-2 form or 1099 form, Mail from financial institutions or recent utility bills.
If your drivers license is suspended by another state, the suspension must end before you are issued a Florida Driver License.
Registering Your Car In Florida
The law requires you to change the registration of your car within 10 days of becoming a resident. In order to register your car, you need to visit your local Florida county tax collector’s office. Bring with you your original out of state title, proof of Florida auto insurance and VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) Verification.
The VIN must be physically inspected by a law enforcement officer, a licensed motor vehicle dealer, DMV examiner or county tax collector employee, and even by a provost Marshal or an active military officer.
There are a few exemptions and VIN Verification doesn’t apply to new vehicles, mobile homes and trailers or semi-trailers with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds.
If your car is less than 6 months old, you may be required to pay sales tax. It all depends on how much tax you have already paid. For example if you have paid 5% in your previous state you will now have to pay an additional 1% in Florida, as the sales tax in Florida is 6%.
Florida No Fault Insurance
As already mention, in order to register your vehicle you must have auto insurance. Your insurance must be from Florida, not another state. The minimum requirements as per Florida No Fault Law are $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) ad $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL). If you are coming from New Jersey, New Your or Michigan you will be glad to know that you auto insurance will most likely be cheaper in Florida. On the other hand, if you used to live in Idaho, Iowa or Vermont, you will find Florida auto insurance rates more expensive.
One sure way to save on auto insurance is to compare auto insurance quotes online. Its fast, free and secure. You can even save up to 35%!
What are you waiting for compare Florida No Fault Insurance quotes online now and see how much you could save.